Join Login
Building ForumRenovation + Home Improvement

Which size dynabolts should I use?

Page 1 of 1
Hello, I have to re-attach my fathers metal gate to some brick pylons on either side. However because I have to use dynabolts I'm not sure what is the correct size dyna for the holes on the hinges. I'm not really experienced with using dynas but with the 2 options I have in the photo I've attached I can see how either would work but what one is actually the correct option? I've seen a few threads where people have suggested attaching a peice of wood on the brick first then putting the gate hinges on but that would push each side of the gate into each other and it would not close. Thanks.
Dynabolts are not great for hinges. The dynamic loads loosen them. I’d use a chemical anchor with 10mm gal or stainless rod and washers with nyloc nuts. That is why the timber was recommended.
Thanks for your help Pulse, I'll look nto that too.
Pulse
Dynabolts are not great for hinges. The dynamic loads loosen them. I’d use a chemical anchor with 10mm gal or stainless rod and washers with nyloc nuts. That is why the timber was recommended.

Yep I agree a chemical anchor would work well. Will never move.

Go to bunnings and ask for the Ramsett Chemset and get some advice from one of their staff.

We use Chemset when anchoring reo into rock for retaining wall footings and the stuff is amazingly strong.
Thanks Ashington Homes, I think I'll return the dynabolts and get what you guys suggest. Cheers.
AxeMaster
Thanks Ashington Homes, I think I'll return the dynabolts and get what you guys suggest. Cheers.

Make sure you wear gloves when you use it, the stuff is lethal (think superglue times by 100)
Thanks again, quick Q...if I use say 8mm anchor bolts, should I drill 8mm holes or 10mm? I'm thinking does the hole have to be a bit wider cos your filling it with the chemset and it might need a bit more space inside to surround and affix to the bolt properly. cheers.
AxeMaster