Join Login
Building ForumHome Finance

Land loan and construction loan

Page 1 of 1
Hi. Newbie here. I have signed a land contract this month with finance due 21 days and 14day settlement after. Finance is due next week. I have been told by my broker bank has approved the land loan and received the approval letter but not the loan document yet.

My concern is I wanted to get a construction loan together with land loan. I am in the process of talking to builder and getting draft plans but no build contract yet so I feel like I won’t make it on time for the finance or settlement clause for the land? It means I have to settle the land first then apply for construction loan, is that the only option I have?

What do bank need to for construction loan if combining with land loan as one? Do they need just the contract or do they need the plans already approved by council?

The main aim of this is to get as if complete valuation rather than at the end of the build.

Can someone shed some light I am confused...

if I settle on the land first then say a month after apply for construction loan and combine both loan together, will the bank do after completion valuation? It won’t be as if complete valuation?

With my above scenario (land finance due next week etc) what other options can I ask my broker and conveyancer?
Am I still allowed to request extension on finance or only on settlement now?

Thanks a lot in advance...
Hi Annie,

Firstly - to your extension, what state are you in?

What you’ve done sounds very normal. You can’t get the build loan approved without plans and a build contract (with only a couple of exceptions where they’ll use tender depending on state).

Typically I do:

Land loan fully approved
Preapproval for build
As if complete valuation for build
Build loan fully approved - this May or may not absorb the land loan.

The land will settle anywhere in that list.