Join Login
Building ForumHome Finance

Finance for build?

Page 1 of 1
Hi guys,

This feels like a totally newbie question/s - I've done a forum search but haven't been able to find anything that really answers it as best I'd like.

Scenario:

I'm currently living at home (and embarrased to say how old I am!) and based on my current financial situation, believe that it will be around the end of this year when I'll have a deposit of sorts saved up - not a lot, but enough to get a 95% loan on what I'd like to spend.

Looking around the area that I'm interested in, the pre-established homes that are within my price range also seem to need approx $50k of work done to make them "livable" (I know that I'm never going to get my "dream" home right off the bat, but I'm talking things like yard work, new kitchen - I'm a cook and can't abide a poky kitchen - replace things like hot water, flooring etc etc etc).

So that's brought me around to building. The H&L packages I've seen are all OK - nothing special, but then, you get what you pay for...

I've heard stories from friends and read online a bit about people who have tried to build, only to have the bank say that they won't lend them $X due to the house not being worth that much... are these exaggerated? Can you get the quote for final approval from the bank prior to signing the (no doubt iron clad) contract?

So I guess what I'm after is anecdotes, advice etc?

Can I find a H&L package I want, get everything squared away (ie: costs etc) based on a "subject to finance" clause with the builder? Is that the quote I would take to the bank for final approval? (I'd obviously have a pre-approval prior to know exactly how much I've got to play with). Would that also cover any changes I may want to make (I'm tall so would want kitchen & bathroom benches a little higher) and other inclusions like flooring etc - or are those expenses I'd have to find the $$ for myself?