Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Advice please: Dual occ in Bayside, Vic

Page 1 of 1
Hi Home One-ers! Looking for some advice please. I’m a complete novice in this domain. I’m looking at knocking down an existing home and building two side-by-side (dual occ) homes on it. I haven’t yet engaged in any meaningful discussions with builders, but think I’ll start discussions with Thomas Archer and Carter Grange.

Some of my questions are:
- How much (approx) should I budget for demolition? It’s a 600m2-ish block with a pool. There are no plans to keep the pool.
- I’ve heard figures of $2k to $25k for subdivision. What’s the actual cost in Bayside?
- What are the standard inclusions like for someone like Thomas Archer? Are they decent quality/usable?
- What do you think most people spend on upgrades (ie what should I budget for upgrades)? I know this could vary significantly.
- What costs aren’t included the the TA/CG costs? Are ovens, hot plates, tiles, curtains and blinds, etc?
- I’ll budget for a surveyor, on top of the other things I’ve mentioned above (subdivision, demolition) but is there anything else you think I need to factor in?
- What sequence and timeframes I should be budgeting for? For example, between choosing a builder and selecting finishes, between agreeing on finishes and getting/signing a contract, between signing a contract and starting to build, between starting to build and handover?
- What’s the typical payment schedule?
- Any other words of wisdom are greatly appreciated 🙏
the pool is going to impact costs the most as i assume you will be building over the pool area
ellietan
Hi Home One-ers! Looking for some advice please. I’m a complete novice in this domain. I’m looking at knocking down an existing home and building two side-by-side (dual occ) homes on it. I haven’t yet engaged in any meaningful discussions with builders, but think I’ll start discussions with Thomas Archer and Carter Grange.