Join Login
Building ForumHome Finance

Finance - External Broker vs. In-house Broker?

Page 1 of 1
Hi,

Is there any major advantage of using an in-house broker vs. an external broker when going for a builder? For instance, most builders partner with financial services to provide you with broker services, and I like the idea of everything being in-house, but I'm still questioning whether it has any major advantage over going with an external broker?

The reason I ask is that I have had numerous meetings with an external broker that I've been more comfortable with.

Best Regards.
Salman K.
Hi Salman,

FULL DISCLOSURE UP FRONT - I am an external broker so I have a bias.

There's no advantage with an internal broker over external - in my opinion, in fact it could go the other way if the broker and sales agent are talking and the agent becomes aware that you can afford a little more and walks you up in your spend.

If I am really searching for an advantage it would be in terms of supplying paperwork backwards and forwards which isn't really a big deal anyway.

There's major advantage in dealing with someone you trust and are comfortable with, I would go with that.

hope you enjoy the build process.

Bec
I went external. She was fantastic. Plus she could comiserate with me when the build lagged.
becjarrettdalton
Hi Salman,

FULL DISCLOSURE UP FRONT - I am an external broker so I have a bias.

There's no advantage with an internal broker over external - in my opinion, in fact it could go the other way if the broker and sales agent are talking and the agent becomes aware that you can afford a little more and walks you up in your spend.

If I am really searching for an advantage it would be in terms of supplying paperwork backwards and forwards which isn't really a big deal anyway.

There's major advantage in dealing with someone you trust and are comfortable with, I would go with that.

hope you enjoy the build process.

Bec