Join Login
Building ForumHome Finance

To buy OR not to buy???

Page 1 of 1
Hi,

I'm a newbie and just after some opinions/advice.

My husband and i brought our first home in 2005 for $115,000. It is only 2 bedrooms (previous owners had knocked an arch way through to the kitchen and turned the 3rd bedroom into a dining room), while they did a good job of this, we did'nt worry about not having a third bedroom at the time due to no children and the rest of the house needed some small renos first. We borrowed an extra $40,000 to consolidate debts, and renos, so this now brings our mortgage balance (as of today) $131,000. Now we are thinking about turning the dining room back into its orignal 3rd bedroom, as we currently have a 2 year old, and plan to have another child in the future.

Our kitchen needs a WHOLE new kitchen - infact its the orginal 1950's kitchen, so i'm sure you can picture what it looks like.

Our back yard is slightly sloped (and small'ish), and hubby wants a double garage, but due to the slope, it would cost us $13,000 for a 6x6 double garage and it would look quite funny/odd to have it only in the position that council has approved for it to go.

As the house stands today, i suggest that we could fetch $190,000 (houses are selling for a little more, but i'm being realistic).
After fees we could end up with $30,000 - $40,000 deposit on a newer home, that gives us a flat leveled back yard, 3 b'rooms and some something nicer.

I would LOVE to have a newer home - hubby is desperate for a new home, BUT i love having a low mortgage too. selling and buying a new home would mean a higher mortgage repayment and less money in our savings ....... BUT i think we have both out grown our home .... can you see my dilemma?.

Please give me your thoughts??
Have you considered a knock-down rebuild on your current block? It'd probably be as or more cost effective as doing major extensions and reno's. Particularly if you like the area and are settled so to speak.