Join Login
Building ForumInterior Decorating Lounge

Help with kids colours please

Page 1 of 1
Hi,

Our home is about 5 weeks away, give and take. I have completed my selection of colour for the inside. Mostly neutral following the Hog Bristle full strength on the walls, with a quarter Hob Bristle on the archs, skirts and picture rails and white watsonia above the picture rails. Ive chosen a browny, grey carpet for the kids rooms to match and beige tiles in their bathroom with a concrete look benchtop for the vanity.

Now my kids want a pink bedroom and a green bedroom, how could i work it in - i thought maybe a feature wall or a panel of wallpaper. But picking the right shades to go with Hog Bristle is my challenge.

I'm not that good with paint colours so have used colour brochures as a guide for most of my choices.

Any ideas to help a clueless decorator? Painting starts in a couple of weeks
Hi kymvass

I personally would not do any feature walls in your case. Below is a similar colour to what you are having but what they have done is just added colour through accessories...wallpaper cutouts, linen, furniture etc. This is the direction I would be heading.

Look at this site below...one of the best ones for childrens rooms...love it!

http://www.ohdeedoh.com/ohdeedoh/home-tours

Mrs B
lovely website mrsb
very nice!
Thank you Mrs B - I like the way you have done the wallpaper cutouts - I guess I could do them in pink!? I wonder if some pinks match the hog bristle better than others. I cant even think of a green that would match.
Hi kymvass, That first pic MrsB posted is perfect. I agree no feature paint, just go with the accessories, linen etc.. I think lots of different pinks and greens would go beautifully. I wouldn't limit yourself to one type of pink or green. In that first pic there is everything from pale pink to hot pink. You could do the same with greens. I can't think of a green that wouldnt look good with that, but I'd definitely use more than one green.