Join Login
Building ForumSafer Living

Some advice needed in regard to alarm system for new home

Page 1 of 1
Hi all

We are building our first home at the moment and was wondering if anyone could give us some advice please.

We previously rented a house that had reed switches on all the windows/doors and this is something that we have considered as my husband works away a lot and we have 3 young children. We thought this would be a good idea so we can arm it of a night time and as the kids are still up of a night time and sometimes do a bed swap it wouldn't set anything off.

Is this a good idea? Where do we start looking for something like this? We really don't know where to start and if this is overkill or not.

Thank you in advance.
Disclosure: I'm not a professional installer.

I didn't bother with reed switches on my house for security, as we have evap cooling and therefore need to leave windows open at night for cooling. All rooms with windows in my house (except for bathrooms) are covered by PIRs anyway so if someone breaks in while I am out the system will detect it.

My partner thought that the 'armed-stay' mode of the system would be great as they could have the alarm on but still be at home, but when I looked at it and the layout of the house (pretty open plan) about the only zone that could be 'armed' while people were at home would be the garage, and if I come home late and open the door then the system will trigger.

Consider instead a few glass-break sensors around the house. If someone smashes your window glass but leaves the frame intact, then the reed switch won't trigger anyway.