Join Login
Building ForumLandscape & Garden Design

What tree to put here?

Page 1 of 2
As you can see, the house at the back is right in my face, I look straight into their windows from my kitchen window. To make it worse, it’s the old owners of the house I just bought. Their house is for sale, but I still want to put something there
that will cover the view.

I’d like something of a specimen tree……maybe….and something that grows fast.
But not too big…..I can’t be cutting the thing back all the time on my own.

I really like Olive trees, but they grow too slow.

What do you think Fu???

By the way the photo was taken at 2.20, note the lack of sun in that area at this time of day.
Ok I will pay it somethought today

Lacebark is exceptionally good when it comes to trees too
Thank you ....
Hi, I'm not an expert or professional or anything, but at the moment I love the autumn colour of the Sapiums and Pistachios.
Carmel.
Are they deciduous?
I’d like the leaves to stay all year round.

Thanks Carmel anyway!
yeah but she is so right
The look amazing and the Sapiums (Chinese tallow) look good even when they aren't all coloured up.

I think you have a few options and not all will need to be trees

If you like the olives but they are too slow for you, what about a hedge of Grevillea Olivacae reds. 3m high and keep them clipped to around a good width for you. You can have native birds attracted to your garden them and privacy that doesn't take ages.

Grevillea Robyn Gordon will be another easy to find fast grower for there. Get a bunch in as a hedge.

Then you get to have a lovely deciduous tree like well...
so many I love

A Chinese Tallow
would be one

Murraya hedges will also get some legs if you get lots of organic material into the soil.
Magnolia Little gem and Kay paris will make exceptional hedges but are pricey and slow.

The standout for me would be the Hibiscus Tilleaceous rubra. most know it as a Cottonwood Hibiscus. It is fast as to grow