Join Login
Building ForumLighting + Lighting Design

LED Downlights and Dimmers

Page 1 of 1
Hi All,

We are building an extension to our house and are planning on getting LED downlights in the bedrooms. We are considering either the Brightgreen D900s or the Wattsaver equivalents. We are thinking of having four downlights in the room but I was worried that they might be too bright so I am wondering whether dimmers are an option. I don't understand how dimmers work, do they make the LEDs use more power or less power? Can we just use one dimmer that is wired into all four downlights? How much do dimmers usually add to the cost of the installation?

Sorry for the noob questions.
I am no expert but I have just purchased 30 or so LED down lights for our home. You can put a number one to one dimmer.

We have 2 lots of 5 and 1 lot of six set up with 1 dimmer for each. Our elec suggested Clipsal universal dimmers and has charged up $95 each to supply and install.

They use less power when dimmed.

The Elec also suggested to go with a more expensive Clipsal universal as some dimmers can result in flicker at low light levels and he said that the Clipsals allow you to go down to virtually zero light with no flicker.

Haven't had them installed yet and am eagerly awaiting the test run.
woodyren
I am no expert but I have just purchased 30 or so LED down lights for our home. You can put a number one to one dimmer.

Thanks for the reply woodyren
woodyren
\
The Elec also suggested to go with a more expensive Clipsal universal as some dimmers can result in flicker at low light levels and he said that the Clipsals allow you to go down to virtually zero light with no flicker.

Haven't had them installed yet and am eagerly awaiting the test run.