Join Login
Building ForumFlooring & Floor Covering

Builder laying flooring?

Page 1 of 1
Hi guys

I am a newbie to this forum, we are looking to build with M.
Flooring wise I see most people are choosing to install carpets/tiles/floorboards privately after handover, is cost the main reason for this?
What would be the average cost of getting your builder to install the floors? I like the idea of not having to worry about doing flooring after handover, and not having to worry about skirting boards with timber flooring and carpets. Ideally I would love M to tack the skirting boards on so I can do the floors myself, however, I am not sure if they will do so?

On a side note, would a budget of $30k cover a 35square home with;
*Carpet to 4 bedrooms, upstairs living area, hallway upstairs and study?
* Timber floors to main hallway, living/dining/kitchen area?
* Tiles to rumpus room? (Or what floor coverings do people prefer for rumpus?)

One other thing - for builders like M, what is the floor covering they do to the stairs? Or do you choose that after handover also? What are most people doing? Our house at the moment has carpet to the stairs but I would prefer wood...

Thanks in advance
haywgl
Hi guys

I am a newbie to this forum, we are looking to build with M.
Flooring wise I see most people are choosing to install carpets/tiles/floorboards privately after handover, is cost the main reason for this?

Big cost saving to do yourself afterwards. Builders generally add their profit margin on top. Also, range of choice is generally limited with what the builder will offer.

Quote:
What would be the average cost of getting your builder to install the floors?

Ask your builder?

Quote:
I like the idea of not having to worry about doing flooring after handover, and not having to worry about skirting boards with timber flooring and carpets. Ideally I would love M to tack the skirting boards on so I can do the floors myself, however, I am not sure if they will do so?