Join Login
Building ForumFlooring & Floor Covering

Laminate flooring in a kitchen

Page 1 of 1
We are looking at getting laminate flooring in our kitchen. I have read numerous posts about the good and bad of it. Can everyone who has it in their kitchen please comment on if any water damage has occurred???? Can you please let us know what you think of it and how long it has been installed for?

Thanks
heya majaca

we got laminate flooring for my mom in her kitchen and downstairs area and whilst i'm no flooring expert i have say that it has help up fantastically... easy to clean and hasn't damaged from any of the odd spills of water... but i guess anything was better than the atrocious lino that she had before
Most kitchen benchtops are laminate!! You'll have no problems unless you are very unlucky or seriously negligent. It's installed in thousands and thousands of kitchens around Australia. Make sure you buy a good quality floor from a reputable retailer though.
anthony - what makes a good or bad laminate... i am clueless and would have just assumed that the differences between them are minimal
Hi majaca,
my in-laws have laminate in their bar area which has a fridge/sink etc and they have had some minor issues with swelling and replaced a couple of planks. Anthony is right - laminate is used in kitchen benches all the time and is a great surface, except the stuff on the bench tops is glued down and has only a minor join (unlike floors). You might notice in old kitchens that laminate benchtops can start to swell and lift usually at the join - but only after a long time of exposure to water.