Join Login
Building ForumRenovation + Home Improvement

Building under the back half of my Queenslander -Woodend QLD

Page 1 of 1
Hi All, My wife and I purchased a renovated qld'er in a very nice suburb of Ipswich with lots of nice old heritage listed colonials. We purchased the house about 18months ago with the intention of not necessarily staying forever....we have since fallen in love with the area and the home and now would like to explore building downstairs before we start a family.

The house is on a gradual sloping 850sqm block with limited side access. The stumps are the original timer ones and despite most likely needing to be replaced in the next few years are in reasonable condition for there age. The house is about 800-1000mm off the ground at the front and at its highest point is 2400 at the back.

The Plan:

I would like to avoid having to raise the house due to the extra cost, I am no expert but I do believe with some small excavation work I will be able create legal building height by cutting 600mm in the heights point into the block. (Despite pictures shown we are only planning to build half way up underneath where current height is 1800mm. We would need to escavate extra amounts to allow for concrete slab. There is some concrete already under the house but is only 80mm deep which would need to be removed.

The idea is to create an extra 2 bedrooms + living area and bathroom with access through an internal staircase in the upstairs sleepout opening up to patio/alfresco underneath the existing upstairs deck. There is an existing toilet downstairs which is where the new bathroom would be located so sewage and water supply exists in the prime location.

I am not sure whether I should replace all of the stumps using timber at the front (for originality) and in the area we are building to use narrower metal stumps.