Join Login
Building ForumOwner Builder Forum

Slab and formwork cost

Page 1 of 2
I'm an owner builder and just poured my slab. Got my invoice from the formworker and the slab has cost me around $280/m2! My block is flat with easy access. Just wondering how much everyone else's slab has cost them?
Do you mean m3?
I'm not sure how to work out the m3.

I worked out the m2 by $slab divided by floor area.
You got done like a dinner.
Oh great.

Whats the acceptable cost of formwork and raft slab including cost of concrete? My blocks approx 200m2.
You're telling us your slab cost $56K? Keep in mind the amount of cement mix in each sq m of slab area is only about $20.

As to your question., read this.
The link to that post is from 2009, I don't think its relevant to costs today.
iwannahouse
The link to that post is from 2009, I don't think its relevant to costs today.

It is still a good guide, keep in mind wages growth has been stagnant for a long time and cement is still the same price. ($200 cu m). Reo and mesh likewise. Add 10% if you like. Economic indicators are that housing has slowed right down, expect rates to fall as the recession looms closer.
iwantanewhouse
You need to provide more info ie Slab size. Type of soil ,engineering details, single or double storey,etc,etc...,.
what is probably worse than being RIPPED OFF is having a $#!t job that becomes apparent outside of the warranty & Structural periods.
If you're an owner builder it's definitely beneficial to pay a bit extra for Architectural,Engineering & Construction (AEC) details/data in a format that you can easily understand & check..then get 3 quotes.Unfortunately it's a bit late for Data & Quant comparisons now
If anyone else requires Data comparisons for Slabs & Footing info leave a PM
It is far better to make informed decisions before you sign agreements/contracts
StructuralBIMGuy
@iwantanewhouse