Join Login
Building ForumEco Living

Getting Solar power

Page 1 of 3
If anyone has had any experiences with Modern doing a fit-out of solar panels, I'd love to get your feedback.

Just got a quote (6 panels bringing in 990w) and appeared pricey... but what do I know?

Trying to get in before the rebate drops out.
What was the price Knuckle ?
For a 990w, 6 panel system fitted with an inverter (that could support 12 panels) they are asking approx $18,000 with about $10,000 to find after the rebate.

Like the idea that the company has been around for a long time and may be around to support the 25year warranty, but what about factory warranties, are they wort anything?
Is this modern as in the "Modern" group of companies....shutters, blinds, alarms, etc.....I have no direct experience but I thought they didn't have a very good reputation as a company...you pay your deposit and then the relationship becomes crappy....could I suggest changing the title to indicate its from the Modern "group".

I'm not trying to cause undue worry....just worth canvassing opinions that others may have add with other Modern products...which may reflect on the solar side....
$18,000 for 990W is far too much. You should be able to get it for $12,500.

These figures are before the rebate.
Sounds much better Casa2!!

Where? And what do I look for in a company?
Modern are very expensive with there products - our neighbour had them in to quote repainting his roof - they were 50% more than the others.
Quote:
For a 990w, 6 panel system fitted with an inverter (that could support 12 panels) they are asking approx $18,000 with about $10,000 to find after the rebate.

Stone the maggots

Casa's price is closer to the mark for a 1kva installed and ready to use with a feedback meter.

$18k - they are having a lend of you. Do it post build.
Steve
Cheers Yak Chat,

Defiantely post-build... the house has was built in 1981!!