Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Third time's a charm ( our 3rd build @ Bingara Gorge )

Page 1 of 11
Well i must be a glutton for punishment but here we are again about to embark on a 3rd build... yes i know im missing a screw or two lol
Anyways i though this would be a good way to document our build as i never did on the first two we built and regret not taking the time to do one, with the slow demise of forum usage these days and fb groups being the go to i do hope homeone is around for many many more years to come.

A little bit about us, im a mechanic by trade and the missus is a high school teacher. We have 2 gorgeous children that are starting to get to that stage in life where they want things that will take up space ( trampolines and dirt bikes etc ) so it was time we explored our plan of relocating somewhere that still has affordable decent sized blocks and houses dont sit on top of each other.

Our first rodeo was back in 2010 in Gregory Hills, it was a lovely corner block on 612sqm , We managed to finish up the whole home with everything from 2.7s , 40mm stone, poly kitchen, shutters, down lights everywhere , full landscaped , driveway and all that good stuff for $520k this was a 30sq single story custom design by a custom builder .I remember at hand over thinking to myself OMG im in debt so much and this place owes us over 1/2 a million what have i done lolol

In late 2016 we sold up whilst the market was really strong and downsized. We purchased a spec home through Edgewater with a land size of 330sqm, again another corner block but with a 28sq double story. It was basically all house which was perfect for a few years until we outgrown the outside available space.