Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Buying land - what to watch out for

Page 1 of 1
This is my first time buying a block of land, and I was wondering what I needed to watch out for. The block is perfect, flat and affordable. I can sign the contract to buy this week (it will be sold to the next buyer if I don't).

Is there anything I need to be aware of? It will be pending finance, but do I need soil tests, or maps showing easements etc?

Appreciate any advice.
Which way does it face?
It faces north
North facing blocks are the least attractive for a home.

Check out http://anewhouse.com.au/2012/02/block-orientation/
Bean1969
It faces north

Yeah, unfortunately worst direction for energy efficiency.

bashworth
North facing blocks are the least attractive for a home.

Check out http://anewhouse.com.au/2012/02/block-orientation/

Hmm I tend to disagree. It depends.

Facing east with houses built
boundary to boundary u don't get much sun at all, particularly ground floor. And if it's single storey it's even worst.

And window needs to be obscure so that it won't overlook neighbour.

Facing north. Nothing is going to block your sun at the front.
MyFirst

Facing north. Nothing is going to block your sun at the front.

Just your own garage.
For single storey yeah.
Doubke storey u only lose one quarter.

But anyway as I said it depends.

Definitley true if it those long narrow piece of land.

But if its wide.. Then it can be quite good.
Sure. But assuming bean1969 is looking at a typical volume build design, think of what rooms are at the front of the house. Bedrooms and maybe secondary living spaces. The main living areas where most of the daylight time will be spent (open plan kitchen, living, meals) are usually at the back of the house.