Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

New Build advice - Prelim Drawings

Page 1 of 1
Hey guys,

I'm about to embark on this build journey, so at the moment I'm reading up as much as I can hunting down information, but I'm completely new to this all.

I've got a set of drawings from the builders, and I can read them well enough but, from a building point of view I'm just not sure what I should be looking for, so any information or tips I can get would be much appreciated!

There's a few things that are not marked on on this set yet:
- The colours are gonna be different for everything (Render, roof, gutters etc).
- There is going to be built-in robes to bedrooms 2 & 3.
- The block is South-facing (North East Adelaide), I read up that in this case it's better to have living areas at the back?
- The lights are not all going to be downlights, only to living areas, hallway & kitchen. Would it be better to do these separately?

One area I'm interested in is the electrical layout, I've trying to keep it as economical as possible while as efficient as possible, as the future goal is to possibly rent it out.

I've attached a copy of my drawings, and I know it isn't as flashy as some of the builds I've seen up on here but any help I can get would be much appreciated, thanks!

Links incase photos don't show up right:
https://cdn1.imggmi.com/uploads/2019/7/ ... 9-full.png
https://cdn1.imggmi.com/uploads/2019/7/ ... b-full.png
https://cdn1.imggmi.com/uploads/2019/7/ ... e-full.png
https://cdn1.imggmi.com/uploads/2019/7/ ... b-full.png
https://cdn1.imggmi.com/uploads/2019/7/ ... 2-full.png
https://cdn1.imggmi.com/uploads/2019/7/ ... 4-full.png
https://cdn1.imggmi.com/uploads/2019/7/ ... 6-full.png
Couple of thoughts come to mind
I think the laundry takes up a bit of space. Id consider moving it to the GGE.

Id add doors to the study so it could be perceived as a bedroom if needed.