Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Cracked brickwork

Page 1 of 1
I’m seeking opinions about our brickwork which has some stepped cracking, and one brick which is cracked in half.

Background info... Occupancy Permit was issued in April 2018. Our soil is highly reactive clay and this section of the house was built on fill and piers.

I have mentioned this to our builder and he said that it’s “general movement”, but I got the feeling that he had a very high opinion of himself so thought I’d throw it out to H1 community to gather other people’s thoughts.

I'm firstly curious if there is anything noticeable also on the internal walls or ceiling (cornice etc) in that area? I would assume if there was a bit of movement in the slab there it wouldn't just impact the brick rebate section only? I'm no expert by any stretch, but let us all know if it appears to only be the brickwork that is slightly cracked.

Also where is your nearest expansion joint in the bricks from that area?
darb74
I'm firstly curious if there is anything noticeable also on the internal walls or ceiling (cornice etc) in that area? I would assume if there was a bit of movement in the slab there it wouldn't just impact the brick rebate section only? I'm no expert by any stretch, but let us all know if it appears to only be the brickwork that is slightly cracked.

Also where is your nearest expansion joint in the bricks from that area?

Thanks darb. The nearest articulation joint is on the other end of that window (it’s a minor bedroom). No plaster or cornice cracks and the window appears to function ok.

I’m prone to being a worry wart and after our build experience I have little trust in anything that our builder says, so just hoping to bounce it off other people.