Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Building Plans

Page 1 of 1
We received plans today yay!!!

Has anyone outsourced an independant company to review your plans? My husband and I have zero experience with building and do not know how to read a plan or what to look for.

TIA!
Load the pics up here

Hi All!

Any input on my plans would be must appreciated!

TIA!

Amanda
Overall, looks quite detailed and balanced plans with a lot of thinking already done.

I am not sure what is your orientation like, to it is quite hard for me to comment re the amount of glazing and passive solar.

Some pretty minor things I have noticed:

1) 2340x820 internal doors at the ground floor will not be looking very proportional. I would limit them to 2.2 m max and do not mess with cavity sliders.

2) I would have played a little bit with the position of beds in your bedrooms as it seems that some of them might end up right under the windows (which is generally not a very good practice).

3) Not sure why do you need a door from the garage to your laundry at all (it is also taking some of the valuable laundry space you might use for the storage or clothing line etc.). Same applies to the cavity door between kitchen and the pantry. The existing garage door to be opened outside, not inside, as you are technically limiting car parking space in your garage, especially considering that due to WC3 corner you do not have much of the parking space over there.

4) I would have segregated air-con to 8 zones: separates zone for each bedroom + study, rumpus, one dining/meals/family/theatre sounds a bit more logical to me in such a big house.

Just my 2 cents.
What is the orientation of the house? Which way is North?
I’d extend the shower in the ensuite to the full length and have no door, easier to clean and you get a double shower