Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

New single storey home scaffolding question

Page 1 of 1
Newbie here, in the process of planning to build a new house with Achieve Homes.

Does a single storey house with 2.55 m ceiling height require scaffolding?

The reason I asked this question is I quoted to upgrade from 2.55 m to 2.7 m, and Achieve Homes quoted me $12,000 to upgrade plus brick work above window to replace FC sheet, plus additional $7,000 for scaffolding due to 2.7 m ceiling height (WHS requirement).

That makes to total of $19,000...

So if scaffolding is needed to build the house with 2.55 m ceiling height they should not ask me to pay $7,000 extra scaffolding which is already inclusive...
The upgarde itself should be between 5-7K if originally it was all brick veneer instead of FC. In your case, originally you have FC sheet above a certain height. Builders use these to lower their cost. They 'sell' it to you saying it will have a unique look that you can render (paint). In reality it is structurally weaker than brick. So when you increase the ceiling height, the FC sheet (being weak) needs to make way for brick. The scaffolding may be required if you have peculiar external terrain (slope?). Scaffolding is also required when roof work will be done, so builder can project plan correctly and use scaffolding only once to serve the bricks and roof work.
19k for 2.55m to 2.7m is simply too high.
The house was all brick to 2.55 m ceiling height, and FC is only above window to roof, and scaffolding was not needed.
And the house is to be build on a very very gentle slope.

However I asked for raising the ceiling from 2.55 to 2.7, with additional brick above window to replace the FC, then the quote was $12000 plus $7000 scaffolding.

But is scaffolding required for building a single storey home with 2.55 ceiling height?
and just 15cm increase in ceiling height, which maybe just two rows of bricks, will need scaffolding?