Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Custom 2-storey knockdown rebuild - Canberra

Page 1 of 2
Hi all.

So we've finally bitten the bullet and decided on a KDR of our old home! It's an exciting time but we're total noobs and have found this forum to be very valuable.

We've gone with custom, 2 level design.

Our primary objectives were a 4brm home, plenty of light, storage and a spacious interior and good flow. It looks good to us, but is there anything we're missing? We also would like to site a fireplace somewhere and we probably don't need such a big terrace.

Would love to get opinions on layout. North is to the rear, block is 500sqm.

Layout looks awesome, I’ll have a closer look later but can’t see too much wrong with it atm.

Edit - Wrt fireplace I’d put it either on a 90 degree angle to the tv, where the window is in family room, or put it on the same wall as tv in living room on far left side.
Nice orientation, you’re lucky to have a rear to north block!

My only suggestion would be to reconsider the window to the pantry, as it’s west facing so may heat that room up a fair bit. Not ideal for storing foodstuffs! Same goes with the west facing window in MBR, but if it’s one of those high windows it may not be as much of an issue.

Good luck, will be following!

Good to see another Canberra build!

I think you've done a good job of capturing the orientation with that plan, although I second Hillsbuilds' concerns about those two west-facing windows . Are there any particular views that you'd like to catch as well?

I like your understairs WC (we had one in our original plan, but not in our final) - are you considering an access hatch from the laundry to access the rest of the understairs space?

I'm a bit concerned about your entry void - voids that small run the risk of ending up as (not very impressive) 'vertical tunnels', with all the disadvantages of voids with none of the advantages. Is a void something that you're really keen on?