Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Owner build VS Established builder

Page 1 of 1
Hi all

Wanted to get some feedback on your thoughts about going for an owner build VS signing with an established builder like Clarendon, Eden Brae or Wisdom

First time building a house and bit confused on way ahead. The general feedback that I have so far is that going owner build will:

BUT

I am a Project Manager by trade so don't mind the managing side that much but finding good trustworthy architects and tradies will be a bother

THOUGHTS!!
That's the problem who to trust ?
hint..Engineers offer Data, Simulations & Proofs and are amongst the Most trusted Professions 2017
Architects & Builders are not even listed? .. go figure
Those savings are more based on knowing all the trades so you get mates rates. Also easier organising. The other side to that is getting them to site as they are working for cheaper so their motivation may be less and they will always prioritise their work towards their aligned builder/s. If you’re engaging an architect then expect a fair chunk of your savings to go towards their fee. You can definitely save money and have much greater freedom in selections, but it takes a lot of work, research and time.
gillybean
Those savings are more based on knowing all the trades so you get mates rates.

So if I dont know the tradies......which I dont really, better off going to a proper builder
In case you are availing bank finance, how do you propose to pay the tradies for work done? The bank will only release "stage" payments.
How much an architect cost to design a 2 story house approx??
CS199

Working on a $600k house about $60-$90k for an architect (10-15% of build cost), or you could get a draftsmen/designer for 10-20k.
gogo65
Working on a $600k house about $60-$90k for an architect (10-15% of build cost), or you could get a draftsmen/designer for 10-20k.

What is the difference between the two
CS199
gogo65

What is the difference between the two