Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Henry's Build on the Gold Coast

Page 1 of 15
Hi everyone!

I have been using and reading this forum since 2009 when we built our last house in South Australia. We sold that house in December 2016 and moved to the Gold Coast to be closer to our Daughter and her family.

We put a deposit on a block in October 2016 and settled on it in January 2017.

This is our block in Coomera.

Build Timeline

1/10/16 holding deposit put down on block
8/10/16 contract signed for block
24/10/16 Visited NuTrend Quality Homes Display
1/12/16 Initial deposit paid to NuTrend
11/12/16 Contract signed
15/12/16 Land registered
12/1/17 Balance of deposit paid
27/1/17 Settlement on land
7/2/17 Colour Selections etc
3/3/17 Signed off on Selections etc

Week 1
20/3/17 Site to be cut - not done - too wet
21/3/17 Earthmoving equipment on site - still too wet
22/3/17 Site cut
24/3/17 Piers done
Week 2
Cyclone Debbie - wet week
Week 3
4/4/17 Plumbing done
6/4/17 Site prep for forming slab
6/4/17 Waffle pods arrived
7/4/17 Slab forming complete
Week 4
10/4/17 Slab poured
10/4/17 Frames arrived minus roof trusses - suppose to arrive on 12/4/17
13/4/17 Carpenters started frames and roof trusses
Week 5
18/4/17 Frames and Roof trusses completed
20/4/17 Fascia and gutters done
22/4/17 Roof blanket and roof done
Week 6
28/4/17 Plumbing and wrapping started
29/4/17 Plumbing and gas connection complete
Week 7
2/5/17 Electrical and air conditioning ducting complete
4/5/17 Front door delivered
5/5/17 Windows and sliding doors delivered
Week 8
9/5/17 Wrapping, windows and doors installed and battens put in ceiling ready for gyprock
9/5/17 Gyprock booked in for installation on Thursday 11/5/17
11/5/17 Gyprock arrived and termite barrier installed
12/5/17 Gyprock installed and bricking started
Week 9
17/5/17 Bricking complete, Gyprock flushing done and cornice installed
20/5/17 Gyprock sanded
Week 10
24/5/17 Waterproofing done and cabinetry arrived