Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

NEW BUILDING -ISSUE

Page 1 of 1
Hi Guys/Girls, First time posting

We are currently building a house with Coral Homes. We are up to fitting out painting and tiling has been complete.

My question is most of our internal (besides wet areas) window trims, skirtings, door trims are MDF which is fine. What I can notice is where nail holes have been filled in because of the putty the painted area is raised slightly and can be seen from about 2m away, these can be seen more if the light is shinning on it.

What do you guys think is he right approach? Is this an Issue I should raise or am I being to picky?.

As this is my first build I would like some input and thoughts

Regards

Nath
Go and look at the Coral Homes Display House, you should expect the same standard.
Good idea just thought there would be an Australian/NSW standard for this or something..
Hi NDJS,
I'm building with Coral also,and my advise is to let your SS know, I definitely would.
They need to be sanded back to flush and re painted. Good luck less us know how you
go.
Julie
I agree with bashworth on this that the standard of the display home is what you would expect. Whether to fight for it is up to you but I know that if this was going to bug me for forever and a day that I would fight for it as it will always be there. If it doesn't worry you now then it probably never will.

This is your home and your $$, you should be happy with it.

Cheers, Jenny.
Thanks guys we are going through the house with the SS tomorrow (friday) and have already brought this issue up with him. He said this was an issue with MDF and many houses have this type of irregularity but I am not buying this response. I have also been through the display home and could not see any nail hole marks and I also got it confirmed by the sales consultant that the spec home is MDF as well.
clearly never heard of a nail punch