Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Owners of polished porcelin, I need advice please!

Page 1 of 1
I've recently moved into my new house and this morning mopped my polished porcelin tiles for the first time, I used metho and water and squeezed the mop out really well. But when they dried there were streaks and smudges everywhere and looked like they hadnt been cleaned in a week!

They looked great when we moved in so surely there must be a way to clean them well, but I refuse to get down on my hands and knees to clean 80m2 of tiles

Anyone have advice?
You mean as in water marks? We have chocolate coloured polished porcelain in our wet areas which show water marks if mopped too wet. I have been using a Oates brand microfibre mop & I wet the floor with a water spray bottle on mist (like what you use on hair) I only do it this way as it's how I mop the hardwood flooring so I just continue through the house that way, I'm no expert as I've only mopped my new tiles twice but they come up shiny & streak free
Have to agree with Broom, your mop was too wet, sorry!! Until you get a microfibre mop, you could tie a microfibre dishwashing (or duster) cloth over the head of a broom...or an old bath towel works well too.

Don't get on your hands and knees, that's crazy stuff. LOL
Thanks for the replies. I tried a small patch with a damp micro fibre cloth and although there were no streaks, they still looked smudged. Maybe there is some kind of residue still on them that is being smeared as I wipe? Although I can't feel anything?
Also, the builders cleaner used acetone to clean the tiles, should this have removed all the wax coating?

On second thoughts, could the acetone also have stripped the sealer? (they came pre sealed)
selina2106