Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Battleaxe property and Hornsby council...where do I start!

Page 1 of 1
Hi all,

Newbie here, and I have few questions for people who have built on a battleaxe property and ideally have dealt with the HSC. As background info, we are looking at a battleaxe property to purchase which has already been DA approved. On the battleaxe property there is currently an existing small brick house and trees (both small and large, large gum trees (i think)) which have already been marked.

Our objective is to build 2 separate new homes on this property (requires demolishing the existing house and getting rid of those trees if council allows). We know we have to ask for approval from the HSC to approve a sub division so that two separate land titles can be issued.

For those people who have gone through a similar exercise can I please ask for tips/pointer on:
Where do I start to meet our objective?

The costs involved? (council costs, demolision cost, tree removal cost)
The time frame it will take to get a sub division approved?
What is the first thing I should do before speaking to a builder?

Many thanks everyone.
Jas
Hi Jas,

I'll be back later to answer some of your q's.....gotta get the kids soon, but I'm building on a battleaxe block in Southern Sydney.

If you have time, have you had a read of Greg's thread? viewtopic.php?f=31&t=29899

Is the block on a slope also?

Bel
We're in Pittwater Council so I hear your pain - believe me!