Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Floor tile question

Page 1 of 1
I am in the process of selecting tiles for the living area.

I saw some tiling in one of our friends house. The tile did not have the normal gab between each tile (which we normally see, in standard tiles). This looked like each tile was right next to each other, with very very less gap (not noticeable from a distance)...

They looked like a porcelain tile. I am a newbie when it comes to these things. Can you guys please tell me what are those tiles... they looked more than 600 x 600 in size. Do we have to specially ask for the tiles to be layed without the gap ? Im not sure. Please guide.
Hi Mark,

The tiles you have seen are rectified tiles - this allows them to be laid closer together as they have a neater edge of tile (I've heard they're laser cut). They are more expensive than normal tiles. Larger format tiles are also more expensive to be laid as the tiler has to be more exact as there is less room for error and they may need to do more floor preparation prior to tiling (if slab not flat).

So if you choose a rectified edge tile you won't have to ask them to lay it close together but it will cost you more, you will also probably pay more for the larger format tiles that you like.

Cheers
The tiles would be rectified. This means that they have a completely flat surface, as opposed to a slightly rounded section on the edges (which they call cushion edge, I think). I believe that most tiles - if not all - are rectified when you get to 600*600 size. Not everyone would lay them with as little gap, so you would need to take it up with your tiler, but using rectified tiles means that they CAN use a smaller gap.

Rectified tiles cost more to lay, but have a much nicer finish. I think it is well worth the extra
thanks for that. I too believe that they look really nice. I just didnt know what they were called.