Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

How many sq's in a house? Is this right? :/

Page 1 of 1
Stupid stupid question, but Im a psychology teacher not maths so I feel excused

I really want to know how many sq's our house is but our designer hasnt told us yet even though Ive asked numerous times. Do I just measure the length x width of each room and add it up?
divide your sqm by 9.29

eg : living space = 245 sqm = 245/9.29 = 26.4 squares
total sqm = 280 sqm = 30.13 squares
Here is a link conversion chart, does the maths for you. The square meters should be on your plans.
http://www.measurement.gov.au/Pages/Met ... rsion.aspx
Cheers Lou
Your plans/construction drawing (usu. 2nd page) should have the total size in square metres and/or squares . If it only shows sq metres, get a google tool to convert it to sq feet, then you just need to put 2 decimal point to the sq feet and viola you get your house measurement in sq.
I havent got any of my drawings yet, Ive only been given my floor plan

tinfish, so I work it out the way I said and then divide by 9.29?? Thanks!
take2
Here is a link conversion chart, does the maths for you. The square meters should be on your plans.
http://www.measurement.gov.au/Pages/Met ... rsion.aspx
Cheers Lou

Thanks Lou!
Bam

tinfish, so I work it out the way I said and then divide by 9.29?? Thanks!

does your floor plan state total living space area? its odd that they dont give u that!
Bam

....so I work it out the way I said and then divide by 9.29?? Thanks!

Bam, you nailed it. If it's a nice neat rectangle, it's simple to just take the outside measurements and then work out the square metres. Assuming your house is an irregular shape, you still ought to be able to divide it into rectangles, work out the area of each and add them together. You might have to deduct porches or courtyards or anything else that projects into the house boundaries, if you know what I mean.

Then you divide by 9-point-whatever.

Easy, see?
tinfish