Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Sterling Homes in Tungkillo area

Page 1 of 1
Hi there.
I am a newbie and have found it very interesting reading everyones posts. I am interested in anybodys views on Sterling Homes? From what I can gather it seems you need to add about another 70% on top of the listed price of just about any builder... does this sound right?

Also has anyone had any experience building in the Tungkillo/Mount Torrens/Birdwood area?

Cheers
Hi Coobowie

Welcome to the forum. Tungkillo is a lovely area, have you got some acreage there? Are you still in the process of selecting a builder? Are you looking at a particular Sterling design?

Yes you do have to add quite abit more from the list price to the final price. How much depends really on 2 things, one being the specifications that you are going for (whether you want to upgrade from the standard on many things) and also your site costs. The additional site costs can make up a fair portion of the extra costs. It does depend on the builder too because some builders tend to have a very low list price that includes nothing so that everything is an upgrade whereas other builders start point is alot higher and therefore your additional costs aren't as high. We are building a custom build so there is not really a list price but compared to a similar sized house that Rossdale build, we are only paying 40% above list price which is not too bad.

I haven't seen too many people on here building with Sterling but I'm sure there are a few out there that can give you some comments. There is a good thread for people building in SA so you can always ask the question on that thread and see what feedback you get. We did look into Sterling before choosing Rossdale but were warned that their time from contract signing to build commencing were quite long at the time because they had too much work but that was over 12 months ago now so things might have changed abit.
Hi there

Thanks for the reply.