Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Montgomery Homes - Upslope Block

Page 1 of 1
Is anyone building with Montgomery Homes?

Hi, I am new to Homeone and finding it overwhelming to say the least with an absolute wealth of information available. My husband and I have an upslope block and are building a Montgomery Home - (Mediterranean 2) at Maryland in NSW and I was wondering whether there were others who are currently building with Montgomery Homes if they could let me know how they are travelling. Also of interest is anyone building on a sloping block as any ideas are more than useful. We are only at the deposit phase and are waiting for our plans.

I have just set up my first blog: http://forbesbuild.blogspot.com
We are the opposite to you as we have a downward slope block in Brizzie, (we are signing the contracts tomorrow fingers crossed) with have a 5m fall down our build site, We have designed the house the fall with the block using some floating floors(on piers) to reduce the amount of cut and fill and retaining need as that take a lot of the budget. We are also using a lot more light weight materials instead of the traditional bricks and mortar. I have found so far when building on a slope you have to think outside the square but the results can be worth it. Good Luck
Hello Scottnsarah!

We're building on a sloping block, but ours slopes down to the left and back. We're building a custom design, check out our blog for the plans!
Thanks Guys

Jodge I am actually following your blog because it seems that when you have a sloping block all sorts of things can happen and it keeps me sane to know others have succeeded or are well on their way. It is such a wonderful journey! This forum has given me so many ideas already and it is good we have a couple weeks up our sleeve until we sign the contracts so nothing set in concrete yet so to speak : )