Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Footing cost and Soil classification

Page 1 of 1
Hi All,

Newbie here

We are in the process of finalising a floor plan for our new house at Para Hills in Adelaide.

Before we jump into the next stage of finalising the draft and signing a contract, I was wondering if anyone in this forum has built a house in the area so I can get a rough idea on footings and soil quality.

Also, if anyone can help with a soil classification map or database showing different soil types would be greatly appreciated. The one I've stumbled across is pretty old and it probably doesn't get updated anymore.

TMK Consulting Engineers - Soil Movement Map > South Australia (tmkmaps.com.au)

Looking forwards to hear from you.

Thank You
Shouldn't you have a soil report for your piece of land by now? That's the first thing they do here when you pay your deposit. Or are you asking for different purposes?
soletraveller
Also, if anyone can help with a soil classification map or database showing different soil types would be greatly appreciated. The one I've stumbled across is pretty old and it probably doesn't get updated anymore.

Stumbling can cost you a lot of additional money in variations as you need a proper certified geotech report
The builder doesn't have to organise one until you pay a preparation of plan deposit and you're near finalising the contract.
By then it may well be too late where unforeseen costs emerge ....lets hope not
Forewarned is forearmed
strannik
Shouldn't you have a soil report for your piece of land by now? That's the first thing they do here when you pay your deposit. Or are you asking for different purposes?

Hi Strannik,

We bought the property last year with an existing house which will be demolished to build our new home.
Property is currently tenanted and the lease runs out in Jan 2022, hence we have started early to finalise plans, designs, approvals etc....