Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Architect vs Custom Home Builder

Page 1 of 2
Hi all

I have a query about building with a high end 'custom home' builder with an inhouse architect/designer (definitely not a volume/project builder or dressed up one like Metricon) vs. going to an architect, and then a high end builder that only builds from external architect plans.

I'm still very new to this and trying to work out which route I should go with, and it's hard getting solid information from builders/architects themselves because it all feels like they're trying to sell me something. Has anybody had experience with one or the other, or both that can provide some advice on:

One one hand it seems quite handy and streamlined that I can go to a custom home builder and work with an inhouse architect to design a plan from conception that keeps in mind what the builder is capable of, as well as works within your budget. I've been to some of these builders display homes and they're beautiful inside, and the work and finishes look quite good. The custom builders I've looked at have all got awards from HIA and the MBA. The consultants from these companies I've spoken to all say that there's no significant benefit to working with an external architect and they can do the portfolios of these architects with no issue. Most custom builders have provided a rough figure of $2500+ per sqm.

On the other hand, I've spoken to some award winning architects and the construction companies they work with, and some of the things that they state is:
- a custom home builder is just a dressed up project/volume builder with a suit on
- most custom builders don't have inhouse architects, just designers they call architects - any good architect will be working with an architectural firm or their own firm. Furthermore designers, or maybe architects that work for these custom builders are only able to build a custom builders style or design, they don't have freedom