Join Login
Building ForumPaving & Concreting

Opinion on concrete path please

Page 1 of 1
Would you accept this path? Hopefully you can see the mound of concrete around the drains then the slope around it with no real straight gradient. I’m told I don’t know what I’m talking about but I just see a terrible job.
This looks like a terrible job to me. The drain seems to be the highest point in that section and the slope down (to the left of the picture) appears uneven. The surface finish is terrible too.
I would not accept this at all.
I'm no expert but that looks terrible to me as well and I wouldn't accept it. Apart for the mound around the drain (unless water flows uphill in your part of the world!) the whole thing is uneven.
Have a look at the 'height' of the weep hole above the finished surface.

What is the white thing to the right of the black grate and what type of drain is the black grate?
SaveH2O
Have a look at the 'height' of the weep hole above the finished surface.

What is the white thing to the right of the black grate and what type of drain is the black grate?

Yep terrible job.

The black thing is the water drain that’s why it’s positioned directly under the tap and I’d guess that white thing is where they terminate the pest/termite barrier, maybe pump the chemicals into the pipes through that.

Looks like they have made the right path too high and then have had to drop below the weep hole when doing this section causing the uneven look. Amateurs.
The house or the concrete path (original on the right) looks unlevel... which one is level and which one isn’t ?

It looks weird. The black grate isn't an ORG cover but you need to make sure that it isn't an ORG because it is far too high if it is. It defies logic if it is a surface water drain.

They have concreted above the Damp Proof Course!

They shouldn't have accepted the job unless the original path was also replaced.