Join Login
Building ForumHeating, Cooling & Insulation

Actron ducted ac efficiency

Page 1 of 1
It’s 33 degrees outside I have my ducted ac set at 25 degrees which means it cycles on at 26 degrees and cycles back off at 25.5 degrees. What I have been noticing is it turns on for 10 minutes then turns off for 10 minutes and just keeps cycling like this continually am I thrashing it.

It’s a 27 square home colourbond roof 2700 high ceilings 3.5r roof insulation 2.0r wall insulation. Mostly tiled floor garage and alfresco no insulation. I mean every 10 minutes off and on is a bit crazy and I couldn’t imagine it’s good for the scroll compressor. I’m also just trying to cool 2 zones living and family I have all bedroom doors shut in the house and no windows open etc. we have a high roof pitch my next step is going to be adding whirly for roof vent and perhaps insulating the garage also. What size ac should we have for our house. I ran a ceiling space test yesterday the thermometer on the bats near the garage was only reading about 6 degrees more than the garage air itself which I thought was pretty ok considering no ventilation
Maybe check with the installer whether you can widen the throttling range of the controller.

Also to lose 0.5 degrees of temperature in 10 minutes could mean poor controller location.

Can't really elaborate more as you've not really given enough information to advise on.