Join Login
Building ForumLandscape & Garden Design

Windbreaks in suburbia

Page 1 of 1
I'm just wondering if anyone out there has any suggestions for how to create a windbreak on a small suburban plot. We are in the western suburbs of Melbourne and have built our house to accommodate an 8 x 20 metre "green space" on the north side for a garden. But at the moment the biggest problem seems to be wind. The few potted plants we brought from our rental can't seem to survive anywhere outside without suffering wind shock even on the south side of the house. Admittedly they are not the best outdoor plants and I'm not considering populating our garden with them but I'm just beginning to wonder how many plants are going to stand up to the wind. I noticed on another thread that somebody suggested growing lilly pillies along the fence line for a windbreak but we have a 2 metre easement at the back which means we could only grow creepers, small shrubs or ground cover. What we were thinking of doing was using the back 7 metres for a vegetable garden and then putting in a hedge of citrus (to about 1.2 metres high) to give some protection to the rest of the garden. Would this work?
I still can't picture what are you describing
(20m - width??, 8m total - depth??, 2 metre easement at the back (assuming out of the 8m??), then you still have "back 7 metres for a vegetable garden" -??
confusing ...) but anyway, I'll give it a shot.
If you have an area about 1 to 1.5m wide along the back fence AND if that is where you want to grow your shrubs, I suggest murrayas. Yes, in 10-15 years they might be 4m high - is that going to be a problem? Or do you only want smething up to about 1.2 metres high? If you only want 1.2m, is that really going to help with the wind? Where we live, I find we needed much higher trees/shrubs to act as windbreaks, so we went for taller species, about 4-5m at maturity.
Hi Lex,