Join Login
Building ForumKitchen Corner

New Kitchen layout help

Page 1 of 1
Hi All

I am a complete kitchen noob and need some help with a re-design.

It is a fairly small galley style kitchen, opening it all up just isnt an easy option so we are hoping to simply maximise the space best we can. I am hoping to keep the sink where it was previously, with the main pantry on the right side (max width is 800mm) and then bench top across to the left with storage drawers under and maybe overhead cupboards to floating shelves above. Opposite, I was hoping to have the fridge tucked away (width 900mm, deep 700mm, with drawers/cupboards cover the rest, underbench oven/cooktop, rangehood etc and overhead cupboard against that wall.

Any help, suggestions or ideas would be appreciated. Our dining table will be in the 'dining area' with kids place space in the 'meals'. Just for context, the master bedroom is the room to the south that is cut off, with 2 further bedrooms down the hall heading down the page, whilst the main lounge is to the right of the dining.

Thanks

Chris

That looks like quite a small kitchen for a family.
Maximising space is all about using every nook and cranny as wisely as possible. There's not much else you can change about the layout. However, you can be clever with your cabinet design to make the most out of it. Here's some things to think about...

build your cupboards right up to the ceiling
put drawers inside your pantry cupboard
in fact, put drawers where ever you can
remember, open shelves are for displaying pretty things and for that feeling of openness. You might not want to sacrifice the storage space.
integrated ranghoods are best, you have a little more room to store things and it's a neater look.
Kitchen review.
Verity Jayne
That looks like quite a small kitchen for a family.