Join Login
Building ForumKitchen Corner

Dumb question re splashback

Page 1 of 1
i'm new to all this renovating stuff, so have a stupid question. We are getting a new kitchen (yeah) and hubbie wants a glass splash (no tiles b/c i'm a way messy cook).
Qn is - is a glass splashback clear glass (then painted behind?) or tinted glass? then i see posts that mention starfire glass - is this different?

thanks!
kel72
i'm new to all this renovating stuff, so have a stupid question. We are getting a new kitchen (yeah) and hubbie wants a glass splash (no tiles b/c i'm a way messy cook).
Qn is - is a glass splashback clear glass (then painted behind?) or tinted glass? then i see posts that mention starfire glass - is this different?

thanks!

I believe it's just clear glass painted behind. I know when I did the colour selection for mine, they just gave me the Dulux colour charts.
Starfire glass is completely clear glass, so if you're having a light coloured splashback, the end result should be quite true to the sample colour you choose. If you dont specify 'starfire' you may end up with glass that has a natural green tinge, therefore your light colour may appear not as you want it to.

We had starfire as our splashback is quite a light grey, and we didn't want a green tinge.
Hi
Glass splashbacks are always painted on the back. Starfire is a proprietary name for an iron-free glass, as normal float glass contains iron and iron gives it the green tint, (try looking along the edge of a glass shelf in a store).

The green tint would hardly be visible in dark colours, but quite visible in light colours as the light passes through the glass and is reflected back through again, so it gets tinted twice.

Ed
thanks so much for that!

now another question, in people's experience is it easy / hard to keep clean - my guess is its going to be painful, but i really don't know?
Windex and microfibre cloths work a treat.
kel72
thanks so much for that!