Join Login
Building ForumKitchen Corner

Kitchen dimensions - too small???

Page 1 of 1
Hi All,

With our tree dramas, we need to amend our plans, and one option at the moment is to take some mm's from the kitchen.

The builder has proposed the kitchen size of 3.5m x 3.2m. Do you think this size is OK?

Thanks!

Bel
Really need to see a layout of the kitchen, for instance is it a galley kitchen, L shape, open plan, contained room?
You need to look at the flow where people will walk, stand, etc and where all of your appliances are laid out.
Yeh, sorry backpocket, didn't explain very well
I was trying to post this in between making kids dinner!!!

Ok, so you can see its a traditional (?) kitchen layout. Proposed kitchen from bench to cooktop is 3.2m, and from fridge space to sink is 3.5m.

Any thoughts?

Thanks Bel
bel - what sort of a cook are you?

I'm a keen home chef - love to bake, stew, etc etc. So for me - lots of large flat areas where I can knead bread, lay 100 biccies out to cool etc was important.

However - my mum is minimalist - so the size kitchen you've got there suits her perfectly.
It's bigger than a lot of kitchens we see these days.

A few tips are to have drawers wherever possible and that all of your benchtops are kept available - this means making sure that appliances such as the microwave et cetera have somewhere besides the benchtop to live.

I would also try to get a cabinet over that fridge cavity for putting away some of those things that you don't use as much.

Cheers,

Earl
Thanks Earl really appreciate your input and suggestions - We were going to go for drawers in lieu of cupboards, and do a built in over the fridge. We were told that we could met with the kitchen suppliers to work the best layout.

Stonecutter - I enjoy cooking, but thinking more function (DH + 3 kids)!!! No where near your 100 cookies on the bench !!!
lol

Having digested our options a bit more I'm thinking we could pinch some room from Garage.