Join Login
Building ForumGeneral Discussion

Building inspectors views. Key Building Consultants.

Page 1 of 2
Hi all, I'm a licenced builder and qualified building and pest inspector. I would like to start up a conversation regarding my industry and more importantly the decline of standards. Ask your questions and lets see where this goes.
Welcome to the forum.
My sentiments are with you, it won't be long before, on standards, we shake hands with our sister states of the third world.
building-expert
Welcome to the forum.
My sentiments are with you, it won't be long before, on standards, we shake hands with our sister states of the third world.

Hi Mate, Our society is building disposable housing. (disposable cars, disposable everything). I have European heritage and my grandmother (92) talks about washing a marble floor in a 400 year old home as a child. Our current homes are falling apart at 40 years. We could do so much better.
Agree. To build houses that last is a science in its own. People do not want to pay premium for quality building systems but rather prefer to spend this money on a good looking finishes (which in fact, are costing times less when ordered directly in China and generally have similar or better quality, sometimes even built on the same factory, sic!).
We are now discovering structural/damp problems with our house after 2.5. years. It is a part suspended single story build on steel supports.
When we have queried items with the builder that are not as described on our plans he is stalling us.
Instead of having an AAC concrete panel wall we find we have a rendered polystyrene one not as per plan and the wind bracing is 22% less than on the engineers drawings .
The answer to this is that they changed the figures BUT no application to council was put in to change plans
It is now almost four years and they propose to change the plans now rather than rectify the missing bracing