Join Login
Building ForumGeneral Discussion

Advice - 90 day maintenance period

Page 1 of 1
Hello everyone,

Firstly thanks for reading my first post. I am new to the buying off the plan thing, and I have my 90 day maintance period coming up. I have submitted my list - however the builder is refusing to fix a number of defects that weren't caught in the presettlement inspection or due to "natural shrinkage" (not sure what that means).

These include chips to the paint, tiles. However I am worried about a flyscreen which the middle has fallen off leaving a big hole, this is a major issue. This occurred around 2 weeks after moving in, anyone would expect that a flyscreen stay on the window for more than 2 weeks!

Is it normal for builders to refuse to fix these issues? Missing paint, scruff marks, broken flyscreens? They have pretty much crossed out 95% of my list. They have apparently written these types of defects into a document which says that they are not responsible to fix, does this have any legal standing or am I screwed?

Thanks in advance
newbieinahouse
Hello everyone,

Firstly thanks for reading my first post. I am new to the buying off the plan thing, and I have my 90 day maintance period coming up. I have submitted my list - however the builder is refusing to fix a number of defects that weren't caught in the presettlement inspection or due to "natural shrinkage" (not sure what that means).

These include chips to the paint, tiles. However I am worried about a flyscreen which the middle has fallen off leaving a big hole, this is a major issue. This occurred around 2 weeks after moving in, anyone would expect that a flyscreen stay on the window for more than 2 weeks!