Join Login
Building ForumGeneral Discussion

Buy Land then look for builder or House&Land package?

Page 1 of 1
Hi there! Newbie here

I am currently looking at the Hills area (rouse hills, kellyville) and have been looking for house&land packages but mostly are on the $600k to $700k range.

Today, I found a land selling for $399k and so I searched for home builders and found affordable ones with Clarendon Homes. Probably there are better ones but they cost around the high $100k range.

This saves me around $50k if buying a land first then choosing a builder.

Any feedback on this approach?
I prefer buying block separately as I think the blocks are better than those used by the builders that offer packages ( see: http://www.anewhouse.com.au/2012/02/hou ... good-idea/)
ebanster
Hi there! Newbie here

I am currently looking at the Hills area (rouse hills, kellyville) and have been looking for house&land packages but mostly are on the $600k to $700k range.

Today, I found a land selling for $399k and so I searched for home builders and found affordable ones with Clarendon Homes. Probably there are better ones but they cost around the high $100k range.

This saves me around $50k if buying a land first then choosing a builder.

Any feedback on this approach?

What size home are you looking to build? how many bedrooms? Single or double-story?

So are you aiming for total cost under $600k?

Ignore the price lists that are in the displays - they are meaningless by the time site costs, council / estate requirements, etc added the price can quickly build up. Many builders also don't included floor coverings, landscaping, driveways, etc.

Be careful of the slope and soil type of blocks you look at because this can significantly affect build cost. A block that looks like good value may not be good value due to site costs.
Over here in WA there isn't really any difference in total cost for house&land package VS buy land then choose builder.