Join Login
Building ForumGeneral Discussion

anyone includes structured pre-wiring on your new home?

Page 1 of 1
Hi all,
Currently I am at the early stage of bulding my first home in SE of Melbourne. Does anyone who are currently building includes structured prewiring on your house?
see this one: www.cleverhome.com.au
I am thinking to put it into my new home, but not sure about the cost, any help is appreciated, thanks.
Hi Connexion.

At last a question I can really answer, and actually know something about.

I had a look at this product, for about 30 seconds and decided that it was not for me. I am into gadgets, and am having a home cinema etc but there are a number of things you really need to think about when looking at this, and any other extra for a new house. I am also a network engineer, so I know a little about it.

You really need to look at what you are going to use it for. Will running a Wireless ADSL router, with 4 cabled ports do what you want? Will your builder let you prewire the house yourself? What do you want it for?? What does all this mean?

Will you electronically water your plants??

Here is my situation

My builder will not let me prewire, but they allowed me to pre drill and rope for easy installation for network access in several rooms, and behind the fridge (internet fridges are getting cheaper).

My Patch panel, is where they all come together, is in the cupboard in my study. My Wireless ADSL router, which has 4 cable ports, (also in the cupboard) gives me a very obscenely fast connection to the Internet (thankyou work), but it also give me the ability to run movies from my home PC, onto a soon to be purchased XBOX2 with a network port in it, connected to a projector.