Join Login
Building ForumPools & Spas

Need some help / comments on pool renovation

Page 1 of 1
Hello Guys,

We have bought a property couple of years before which has big pool in backyard. Initially we thought we will manage it but now it seems kids are not using it fully and we are now also unable to manage this big pool. So thinking to renovate it by down sizing it.

Current :

Our Idea :

NOTE : skimmer, main drain, return line are in back part of the pool which I removed in above image.

(1) Can you please give your feedback on the new design (down sized) pool?
(2) If we have to down-size the pool, do you propose any other design (would like to keep the final cost as less as possible).
(3) Just to get an rough idea, how much this type of job will cost appro?
(4) Any recommended pool renovator or services guys to do this job?

Thanks
Anna and Mark
Hi,

I assume this is a concrete pool.

I am no expert by any stretch but I know to re-tile an existing concrete 9mx4m pool costs about $10,000.

Therefore, should you require engineering plans, council approval, excavation, concrete form work, plumbing relocation, tiling/surface refinishing, I would expect it to cost somewhere in the ballpark of $20,000

I am currently building a pool from scratch.

I am subcontracting all the bits to save some ca$h.

So far.
Architectural design $free (I drew it myself)
Engineering Plans $400
Council Application $400
Hole dig / Excavation of a 8.0 x 3.3m hole $5,000
Buy Steel reo $3,500
Steel fixers labour $3,500
Plumber first fix only $2,500
Spray Concrete labour 3,500
Concrete pump $800
20m3 of Boral MPA40 strength concrete @ $270m3 = $5,400

All up at the level of a LARGE concrete bird bath, $25,000

Good luck,
Andrew

My Concrete Pool Build in SA
http://forum.homeone.com.au/viewtopic.php?f=65&t=73509