Join Login
Building ForumRenovation + Home Improvement

New member .... Help welcome. Timber frame wall coming down

Page 1 of 1
Hello, newbie here. I am renovating a shocking house that absorbs all joy and constantly leaves Trades scratching their chins and muttering ‘not sure what they were thinking when they did that!’. Simple tasks seem to all be complicated by the cluster of nonsense that surrounds us 😢

BUT ...... we have a plan. Step one is removing the hideous garage that takes over garden, and rebuilding so it runs flush with house wall and gives us full garden to landscape. This will become the wall for the garage on one side and the (newly positioned) kitchen on the other. Engineers drawings etc for the garage will be completed. However the wall that joins that wall (garage/kitchen is west wall and this will be the north wall) is currently holding two sets of French doors and four windows. Two separate rooms that will be made into one. The wall span will be 12 metres. I was thinking of making this wall also brick and putting in large stacker door of about 4 metres (although will be one room it is two gable ceilings so limited by height of lowest point where ceilings join.

Thank you if you made it this far.... my question is can I structurally do this. Two walls brick with east and south walls being timber..... and if I can do it, is it worth it?
A floorpan and photos of the existing would help us a lot before anyone gives you an opinion.

Stewie
Pombearinoz
Thank you if you made it this far.... my question is can I structurally do this. Two walls brick with east and south walls being timber..... and if I can do it, is it worth it?

Words only take you so far when renovating/building , sketches,details, calculations, data, compliance checks etc fill in the gaps
As some one who does structural repairs I do advocate getting proper illustrative certified drawings...they are cheaper than having to do structural repairs further down the track