Join Login
Building ForumRenovation + Home Improvement

Stormwater system

Page 1 of 1
Hello everyone. I am a new member and this is my first time posting.
I checked almost all available topics on stormwater system however didn't find answer to issue I have.

I need to know correct procedure on building a new stormwater system and estimated costs. I have an existing easement at my backyard and when I talked to my local council (Blacktown NSW) they said I have the rights to connect to that easement as it is inside my property and I can just ask my plumber to connect to that. Is it that simple? I am hearing it has to be designed first and then plumber will build based on that design.

Any help and advise will be greatly appreciated.
rizi25
I need to know correct procedure on building a new stormwater system and estimated costs. I am hearing it has to be designed first and then plumber will build based on that design.
Any help and advise will be greatly appreciated.

See if you can find at Hydraulics 3D Bim guy (Design Engineer).
They can design, certify and provide data and estimates. Then get 3 plumbers to quote
OT, I checked out a processing plant being built here last week the futures already here, mate
Pity engineering forums aren't open to the public, plenty of graduates looking for extra weekend cash
Talk to a drainer (or three) and ask for a quote.

It is that simple!
I've been told that it needs to be designed by Engineer and then plumber and/or drainer will install. I don't want to pay extra for the design fee if it's not necessary.
That must be a council requirement then which is very unusual if it is a bog standard system.

Stormwater just needs a 1:100 fall for the standard run of the mill size pipes (but less for larger pipes), there is nothing to design for the connection to the LPOD. Who told you an engineer has to design it and what classification of engineer did they reference?
SaveH2O