Join Login
Building ForumSafer Living

CCTV, Security, Intercon - Metricon

Page 1 of 1
Hi All,

We are building a home with Metricon and I asked another question on this forum regarding Metricon Home Network Package which costs $1400 for data points insdie the house.

As part of electrical appointment, they offered IP Camera system with 3 cameras for $2500, Video Intercon for $1000 and security alaram system for $1500. All together this costs approx $5000. On top, to get the alarams on the mobile will cost another $800.

So my question is if this is all really worth $6000? Does anyone have expereince with Metricon and what is the best way forward? Should we look into getting the installed later ? I am not sure how the wires for cameras can be installed later, we may end up paying the same most probably.

Any help will be much appreicated.

P.S, this is single story house.

Thank you All!
I'm no expert, but maybe you just request for Cat6 data points (depends how many you need). Rough estimate $120-$150 each. Then buy those camera with siren like Reolink rlc-811a. I think it's less than $200 each.

So you have cctv + alarm all in one. They are smart hub compatible too so you can ask google to display the video on your smarthub if you have them. Only missing will be the video intercom. But you can buy those ring or nest cam that you can put in your door.
babird
I'm no expert, but maybe you just request for Cat6 data points (depends how many you need). Rough estimate $120-$150 each. Then buy those camera with siren like Reolink rlc-811a. I think it's less than $200 each.

So you have cctv + alarm all in one. They are smart hub compatible too so you can ask google to display the video on your smarthub if you have them. Only missing will be the video intercom. But you can buy those ring or nest cam that you can put in your door.

Note that pricing might not be accurate as I'm not building with Metricon.🙂
Related
12/07/2023