Join Login
Building ForumOwner Builder Forum

My experience buying windows in China

Page 1 of 12
I’m working in the building industry as a project manager assistant and we bought all windows for our recent project in China. I’m also an owner builder and know that saving money on windows can make a big difference in the budget. That’s why I share my experience here.

We met the window company representatives at a trade show in Sydney and visited several of their projects in Sydney before we considered working with them.

Beforehand we’ve consulted with major Australian brands and we were impressed by the Chinese knowledge about windows, glass types, wind rating, insulation values and frames. The service and response time was also remarkable compared to Australian window companies.

We started with the window list that we’ve got from the house designer (including basic rules), so the window selection process was pretty smooth. The company has different systems for residential or commercial use and the quality is competitive to Australian products in every price range.

Some facts:
The windows are compliant to AS/NZ Standard.
The range of glass is also satisfying. (single, double, low E…)
They have standard frame colors and produce custom colors as well
We were well in our schedule and I can not complain about anything. (One of the fly screenes was damaged during transport and they send us a new one.)
Shipping was organized by the window company and conducted by a Sydney based importing agent. They were very professional and I've worked with them again. No paper work, no headaches and no extra costs (Only what was communicated upfront.)

Are there any lessons I’ve learnt that improves communications / reduces errors / encourages good working relationship?

It is always important to communicate clear and precise what you want. If you want something out of the ordinary send sample photos of what you want. Ask the window company to do the same to avoid misunderstandings.