Join Login
Building ForumHome Theatre & Automation

I am very new to this and need help.

Page 1 of 1
Ok so let me start off by saying at am the least tech savey person you would meet. I have a facebook page but don't know how to upload(or is it download) a photo. That's what your dealing with.

We are going to be building a new house soon(3rd time) and I keep saying I want a HT room but I have never done it. This time I will be doing it. I have been reading these forums for research and I keep reading about NBN and NSN and CBUS and CAT's and Dogs and all I have is a BT(brain tumor)

so here is what we are wanting to do and if anyone can give me any advise I would appreciate it.

We will have a dedicated home theatre room(4.5 x 3.6 mtrs)
We want to be able to have the rooms set up but have speakers set up to play music from the system in the alfresco area and possibly the main living area as well. Having 3 zones is not a deal breaker but 2 is.
We want to be able to play and run music off the ipad/iphone etc.

At the moment thats about it. We dont need anything over the top as far as tachnology is concerned. I don't need one of these systems where I am turn everything off and on from the touch of a button etc etc.

My main concern is what I need to do prior moving in. Previously I thought its just a matter of running a few speaker cables from where the reciever will be to were the speakers will be but everytime I open a thread people are talking about network cables and hubs and I don't know what it means and if I need it.

If anyone can offer any advice I would really appreciate it.
Maybe post a job on one of the service seeking websites and get someone to design & specify a system for you? I've used these online trade-seeking websites effectively for getting quotes on installation.