Join Login
Building ForumBuilding A New House

Post build modifications

Page 1 of 1
Hi guys,

Sorry if this has been already discussed.

I am currently building my first home and i wanted to check few general things which i can do post handover to save money. I am a total noob in all this.

You opinions/suggestions would be highly appreciated
If this is a duplicate, please direct me to the appropriate thread.

Electrical:

1- Its a double storey house and they are charging me $105 for each downlight. I dont have any downlights in standard inclusions and one oyster light per room so i will need a lot of downlights.
Question being, should i get it done by the builder or just get the ground floor done. For the first floor then, what do i ask my builder to do? Leave provisions?

2 - Same scenario similar to downlights, dont know yet how much they’ll charge for outlets as havent had my electrical appointment yet.

3- Carpet - Builder is provided standard builder range carpet on first floor, i dont know how that is to be honest. I Would prefer something softer. Any idea how much extra would that be?

4- Tiling, they are providing ceramic tiling which i think would be 300x300. I want to have 600x600 tiles with a shiny look. Any suggestions on that price wise?

5 - i have left Driveway, fencing and landscaping to be done privately as i was told builders cost more always with these things.

6 - Any other things that i should be considering?
A-Zed

These Questions have been answered many times over
Try searching the posts with key words here eg
Projects to Do After New Handover

A-Zed
4- Tiling, they are providing ceramic tiling which i think would be 300x300. I want to have 600x600 tiles with a shiny look. Any suggestions on that price wise?

4. above is a classic where battlers and punters are worse off after handover
Your slab mesh probably requires upgrading for crack control approx $250?
without it those Expensive porcelain large tiles starts looking like cracked Cr@p